Timothy W. Marin, PhD

Timothy W. Marin, PhD


Phone: 630-829-6579
Office Location: Birck 324

BenU faculty since 2003
Ph.D. Northwestern University (2001)
M.S. Northwestern University (1997)
B.S. Benedictine University (1996)

Courses Taught
Classical Thermodynamics, Quantum and Statistical Mechanics, Molecular Dynamics and Kinetics, Physical Chemistry Laboratory, General Chemistry, General Chemistry Laboratory, University Physics Laboratory, College Physics Laboratory, Modern Physics

Dr. Tim Marin is a Professor in the Department of Physical Sciences at Benedictine University in Lisle, IL, where he has taught chemistry and physics for over 20 years. His teaching responsibilities have included the physical chemistry lecture and lab sequence, the general chemistry course sequence, both algebra- and calculus-based physics sequences, and modern physics. He earned his Ph.D. at Northwestern University before holding postdoctoral appointments at Argonne National Laboratory and the Notre Dame Radiation Laboratory. Over the years, he has maintained research collaborations and visiting faculty appointments with those two institutions, as well as the Synchrotron Radiation Center associated with the University of Wisconsin – Madison. Dr. Marin maintains a vibrant research agenda, with over 50 peer-reviewed publications. As a spectroscopist truly working at the boundary between physics and chemistry, Dr. Marin’s work has ranged from ultrafast photophysics to radiation-induced fast kinetics, radiation- and photo-induced radical chemistry, and vacuum ultraviolet spectroscopy. He has served on various committees and in various roles on the Board of Directors for the Chicago Section of the American Chemical Society since 2010, including the Programming Committee, Nominating Committee, Director, Budget Director, Councilor, and Section Chair, and at the national level as a Councilor and on the Committee for Constitution and Bylaws. A strong supporter of the liberal arts tradition in Catholic higher ed, Dr. Marin enjoys exploring the ‘great questions’ that lie at the interface of science, theology, and philosophy. To that end, he also serves as Vice President and co-founder of the Chicago area chapter of the Society of Catholic Scientists. In his spare time, Dr. Marin is busy is a semi-professional musician, and serves as musical director, arranger, and bassist for the Nite Hawks jazz combo, the Tim Marin Orchestra, and the Chi-Town Showstoppers R&B/soul band.

Awards and Recognition:

  • Distinguished Service Award, Chicago Section of the American Chemical Society
  • College of Science Dean’s Award for Innovation, 2016
  • Benedictine University Service Award, 2015
  • College of Science Dean’s Award for Leadership, 2014
  • Benedictine University Distinguished Faculty Award for Research, 2009
  • College of Science Dean’s Award for Research, 2008

Research Area
radiation chemistry, spectroscopy, photophysics, electron-transfer processes, structure of simple molecular fluids

Recent Publications:

· Ultraviolet Spectroscopy of Pressurized and Supercritical Carbon Dioxide. Timothy W. Marin and Ireneusz Janik. Communications Chemistry, 2021, 4, 77.

· Failure of Molecular Dynamics to Provide Appropriate Structures for Quantum Mechanical Description of the Aqueous Chloride Ion Charge-Transfer-to-Solvent Ultraviolet Spectrum. Timothy W. Marin, Ireneusz Janik, David M. Bartels, and Daniel M. Chipman. Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics, 2021, 23, 9109-9120.

· Ultraviolet Charge-Transfer-to-Solvent Spectroscopy of Halide and Hydroxide Ions in Subcritical and Supercritical Water. Timothy W. Marin, Ireneusz Janik, and David M. Bartels. Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics, 2019, 21, 24419-24428.

· Vacuum Ultraviolet Spectroscopy of the Lowest-Lying Electronic State in Subcritical and Supercritical Water. Timothy W. Marin, Ireneusz Janik, David M. Bartels, and Daniel M. Chipman. Nature Communications, 2017, 8, 15435.

Professional Activities:
American Chemical Society (member since 1994)

  • National ACS Committee on Constitution and Bylaws 2023 – present
  • Chicago Section Comptroller 2023 – present
  • National ACS Council 2022 – present
  • Chicago Section Finance Committee Chair 2022 – present
  • Chicago Section Office Committee Co-Chair 2022 – 2023
  • Chicago, 2022 National Meeting Budget Director 2021 – 2022
  • Chicago Section Budget Director 2019 – 2023
  • National ACS Alternate Councilor 2018 – 2021
  • Chicago Section Chair Elect/Chair/Past Chair 2018 – 2020
  • Chicago Section Nominating Committee 2015, 2018 – 2022
  • Chicago Section Director 2012 – 2015, 2016 – 2017
  • Chicago Section Programming Committee Co-Chair 2010 – 2015

Associated Colleges of the Chicago Area (member since 2003)

  • Chemistry Chair 2006 – 2007
  • Chemistry Secretary/Chair Elect 2005 – 2006

American Physical Society (member since 2005)

Society of Catholic Scientists (member since 2017)

  • Benedictine University Chapter Vice President 2020 – present

Current and Former Research Students:

  • Jordan Werner, 2023-2024, chemistry/physics
  • Allison Dickman, 2019, biology
  • Alissa Potts, 2018, chemistry
  • Elijah Medlock, 2018, physics
  • Nicole Jeffrey, 2018, physics
  • Rana Ahmad, 2016, physics
  • John A. Doherty III, 2015-2016, chemistry
  • Ruojing Zhang, 2015, chemistry
  • Bohdan B. Khomtchouk, 2011-2013, physics
  • Kenneth A. McDonald, 2011, chemistry
  • Mohammad Arfeen, 2011, biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Ana Kiricova, 2011, chemistry
  • Rama Wahood, 2010, health science
  • Michael J. Krolikiewicz, 2009, chemical engineering
  • Asif Kamal, 2009, chemistry
  • Amanda L. Pedersen, 2008, chemistry
  • Kushal D. Shah, 2006, biochemistry
  • Robert L. Maynard, 2006, physics
  • Rajat Nanda, 2006, chemistry
  • Mary D. Musielak, 2004, chemistry
  • Justin Van Gundy, 2004, chemistry/physics

Current Research Projects:
Project 1 – Vacuum Ultraviolet Spectroscopy of Simple Molecular Fluids: Above the thermodynamic critical point, simple molecular fluids are thought to exist as dynamic systems consisting of single molecules and nanoclusters of dimers, trimers, etc. The electronic states of these species are energetically sensitive to local perturbations by adjacent molecules. We are studying the vacuum ultraviolet spectroscopy of the lowest-lying electronic state of sub- and supercritical fluids to glean information on changes to intermolecular forces as a function of temperature and density. We have designed a unique high-sensitivity vacuum ultraviolet absorption experiment in collaboration with the Notre Dame Radiation Laboratory to probe these changes directly, and are doing so from room temperature up to supercritical conditions, and then as a function of density above the critical point.

Project 2 – Charge-Transfer-to-Solvent Transitions: Simple inorganic anions do not possess bound excited electronic states in the gas phase. Photoabsorption of vacuum ultraviolet radiation leads to electron detachment, giving a structureless spectrum. However, in high-polarity solvents an intense, broad ultraviolet absorption arises, indicating that bound electronic states indeed exist. Since the solvents lack the unoccupied orbitals necessary to stabilize the excess electron, these excited states are supported by many solvent molecules as a collective. Because of this means of the solvent supporting the excited states, they are dubbed charge-transfer-to-solvent (CTTS) states. These states are markedly sensitive to the surrounding local solvent environment, making CTTS spectroscopy an excellent tool for exploring single ion solvation. The temperature dependence of the vacuum ultraviolet CTTS absorption spectra of such ions is being investigated in subcritical and supercritical water.

Current Research Collaborators:

  • Ireneusz Janik, Notre Dame Radiation Laboratory