Celebrating Excellence in Academia

Dec 7, 2023 | College of Liberal Arts, College of Science and Health, News

Honoring the 2022-23 Distinguished Faculty Award Recipients at Benedictine University

It’s a time of celebration and pride at Benedictine University as we honor the exceptional achievements of our faculty. The Distinguished Faculty Awards for the 2022-23 academic year have been announced, and it’s with great honor and pleasure that we share the names of these outstanding educators who have made remarkable contributions in their respective fields.

LeeAnn Smith, Ph.D., Biological SciencesDr. LeeAnn Smith: Distinguished Faculty Award for Service
LeeAnn Smith has been recognized with the Benedictine University Distinguished Faculty Award for Service. This award is a testament to her unwavering commitment to serving the community and her dedication to fostering a spirit of service within the university. LeeAnn’s contributions have not only enriched the lives of her students but also made a significant impact on the broader community.




Tiara Perez-MoralesDr. Tiara Perez Morales: Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching
The Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching has been awarded to Tiara Perez Morales. Tiara’s approach to teaching combines passion, creativity, and a deep understanding of her subject matter, making her classes not just a learning experience but a journey of discovery for her students. Her dedication to student success and her ability to inspire is truly commendable.




Rita George TvrtkovicDr. Rita George-Tvrtkovic: Judith Ann Whinfrey Distinguished Faculty Award for Leadership
Rita George-Tvrtkovic has been honored with the Judith Ann Whinfrey Distinguished Faculty Award for Leadership. This award recognizes her exceptional leadership qualities and her significant contributions to the academic community. Rita’s leadership style is characterized by her visionary approach, her ability to inspire her colleagues, and her commitment to fostering an inclusive and forward-thinking academic environment.

We invite the Benedictine University community and all who value excellence in academia to join us in congratulating Dr. Smith, Dr, Perez Morales, and Dr. George-Tvrtkovic. Their achievements are not just a source of pride for the university but also an inspiration for students, faculty, and the academic community at large.


Learn more about our programs in the College of Science and Health and College of Liberal Arts.

Recent News

Discover your future at BenU