Desire2Learn

Desire2Learn (D2L) is the learning management system used at Benedictine to support web enhanced and blended courses.  (Online programs are supported by a different system.  See National Moser Center for Adult Learning for more information)

D2L workshops for faculty are offered regularly throughout the year.  The Professional Development Coordinator and the Academic Applications Administrator also hold Open Office Hours where faculty can stop by for informal D2L Q&A.  Schedules for the Workshops and Open Office Hours are announced through Benedictine email.

D2L Login Link

D2L Student Access Handout


D2L WORKSHOPS


Faculty and Staff

The schedule for the next round of D2L Open Office Hours and Workshops follows below. All sessions will be held on the Lisle campus in Kindlon Hall, room 145. 

Open Office Hours (drop-in with questions, no registration)

  • Friday, October 24, 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
  • Monday, October 27, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, October 30, 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
  • Monday, November 3, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, November 6, 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 11, 9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
  • Friday, November 14, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
  • Monday, November 17, 9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, November 20, 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, November 25, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
  • Monday, December 1, 9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, December 4, 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, December 9, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, December 10, 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.
  • Thursday, December 11, 9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
  • Friday, December 12, 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

 
Workshops
 

Workshops are designed for faculty who are using D2L to support their courses, and for faculty and staff who are using D2L for other reasons such as committee work or departmental collaboration. 

 If you would like to attend any of the sessions below please email Jennie Kamieniecki, jkamieniecki@ben.edu, to register.


D2L Workshop VII: Capture   (the same session offered multiple times)
Capture is our tool for creating online lecture videos.  Recordings can be made live, during an in-class lecture, or outside of class using an office or personal computer.  Both voice and computer screen are recorded for later play-back by students.  Recordings are easily embedded into a D2L course site in Content, News, or any other area of the site where the HTML editor is available.  Videos created during class give students the ability to review lectures and focus on portions they may have found difficult.  Videos created outside of class can be used to support a flipped classroom.

  • Tuesday, November 4, 9:30 a.m. - 10:45 a.m.
  • Friday, November 7, 1:00 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.
  • Monday, November 10, 1:00 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, November 13, 9:30 a.m. - 10:45 a.m.


D2L Workshop VIII:  End of Semester Tips  (the same session offered multiple times)
Some best practices and tips as the end of the semester approaches: exporting your grades, backing up course materials, copying current components to your Spring course shells and more.

  • Monday, November 10, 2:30 p.m. - 3:45 p.m.
  • Thursday, November 13, 11:00 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.
  • Tuesday, December 2, 9:30 a.m. - 10:45 a.m.
  • Friday, December 5, 2:30 p.m. - 3:45 p.m.


The D2L Support Team

Hongqin Li
Learning Technologies Expert
hxli@ben.edu

Angela Xiong
Instructional Designer
axiong@ben.edu

Gregg Johnson
Academic Technology Liaison
gggjohnson@ben.edu

Jennie Kamieniecki
Office Assistant
jkamieniecki@ben.edu

 

Students Library
  • Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence

    BENEDICTINE UNIVERSITY

  • Cheryl Heinz, Ph.D., Director
    Phone: (630) 829-6581
    Fax: (630) 960-1126

  • Jennie Kamieniecki, Office Assistant
    E-mail: jkamieniecki@ben.edu
    Phone:  (630) 829-6278
    Fax:      (630) 960-1126

  • 5700 College Road Lisle IL, 60532
    8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m