Faculty

Faculty Highlights

COEHS hosted its first Faculty Research Symposium on March 27. Dr. Sunil Chand chaired the panel and the following faculty presented:

  • Georgeen Polyak and Susan Cheng (MPH): Measuring legislative outcomes of public health advocacy
  • James Pelech (Education): An action research approach to examining the metacognition of middle school mathematics students
  • Margaret Carter Richey (Nursing): Registered nurses’ perceptions of health literacy and its effect on patient self-efficacy and patient healthcare decisions: implications for practice
  • Eileen Kolich: Mentorship as a means of mutual transformation: Personal development facilitation within the doctoral dissertation journey
  • Bonnie Beezhold (Nutrition): Does low intake of long-chain omega-3 fats in seafood adversely affect mood?

Dr. Sunil Chand has been appointed to the Board of The Conservation Foundation for a three year term. The Foundation is the premier non-profit in Illinois serving  conservation interests, especially land and water protection.  His appointment supports the University’s commitment to stewardship of the environment.


Dr. Eileen Kolich has co-authored a chapter in the text Research Paradigms for the 21st Century: Perspectives and Examples from Practice (Peter Lang Publishing, 2013) 


Stephanie Ellis and Alandra Weller-Clarke have received Innovation Grants for On-line /Hybrid Course Development for summer 2014.


Ovid Wong received an invitation to train about 50 new faculty  at Dalian Nationalities University (DNU) starting May 2014.


Jan Writer presented a workshop at the TASH National Conference on Severe Disabilities in Chicago, December 2013.


Dr. James Pelech's book review of Can Education Change Society? was published in "Teachers College Record."


Staff

Adjunct Faculty

Scroll to the right to view more
Name Department Email
Shelly Baldwin, MSN, RN, CWOCN BSN Springfield Nursing and Health sbaldwin@ben.edu
Cindy Baranoski, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition cbaranoski@ben.edu
Mary Barnes, MS, RN, CCRN BSN Springfield Nursing and Health mbarnes@ben.edu
Traci Beierwaltes, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition tbeierwaltes@ben.edu
Mary Billie, MSN, RN-BC, CCM BSN Nursing and Health mbillie@ben.edu
Patricia Brown, DNP, APN, CNS, CCRN BSN Nursing and Health pbrown@ben.edu
Lou Ann Chvatal, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition LChvatal@ben.edu
Jeffrey Coleman, MSN, RN, CNML, CMSRN BSN Nursing and Health jcoleman@ben.edu
Vicki Coombs, PhD, RN, FAHA MSN Nursing and Health vcoombs@ben.edu
Ellen Davel, Ed.D., MSN, RN BSN Nursing and Health edavel@ben.edu
Jan Dowell, M.S., M.H.S., R.D., C.S.S.D. Nutrition jdowell@ben.edu
Lisa Eaton Wright, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition lwright@ben.edu
Lynn Guan, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition ldugan@ben.edu
Deepa Handu, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition dhandu@ben.edu
Michel Harris, M.S., R.D., L.D.N., C.D.E. Nutrition MHarris@ben.edu
Hillary Holecek, MBA, MS BSN Nursing and Health hholecek@ben.edu
Andrew Hynds BSN Springfield Nursing and Health ahynds@ben.edu
Deborah Jezuit, PhD, MS, RN MSN Nursing and Health djezuit@ben.edu
Deborah Jones, PhD, MSN, RN MSN Nursing and Health djones@ben.edu
Tom Jordan, M.S., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition tjordan@ben.edu
Dhananjay Joshi, MS BSN Nursing and Health djoshi@ben.edu
Beverly Kawa, MS, RN BSN Nursing and Health bkawa@ben.edu
Bernice Kennedy, PhD, RN, PMH-CNS, BC MSN Nursing and Health bkennedy@ben.edu
Emily Keyes, PhD, MSN, RN MSN Nursing and Health bkeyes@ben.edu
Pam Koob, PhD, FNP-BC, MSN, RN MSN Nursing and Health pkoob@ben.edu
Tammy Lampley, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE MSN Nursing and Health tlampley@ben.edu
Amie Luna, M.S. Nutrition aluna@ben.edu
Vicki McMahon, MSN, RN BSN Springfield Nursing and Health vmmcmahon@ben.edu
Sarah McNicholas, M.S., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition smcnicholas@ben.edu
Mary Micklus, MS, RN BSN Springfield Nursing and Health mmicklus@ben.edu
Paula Milas Sochacki, M.P.H., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition pmilas@ben.edu
Nancy Moran, M.P.H., R.D., L.D.N., C.D.E. Nutrition nmoran@ben.edu
Mary Mullen, M.S., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition mmullen@ben.edu
Linda Olson, PhD, MBA, RN, NEA-BC BSN Nursing and Health lolson@ben.edu
Christine Palumbo, M.B.A., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition cpalumbo@ben.edu
Teresa Pangan, Ph.D., R.D. Nutrition tpangan@ben.edu
Carol Patton, PhD, RN, FNP-BC, CRNP, Healthcare Informatics Certificate, Parish Nurse, CNE MSN Nursing and Health cpatton@ben.edu
Monica Pawasarat, M.B.A., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition mpawasarat@ben.edu
Beth Phelps, MS, RN, APN-BC BSN Springfield Nursing and Health bphelps@ben.edu
Roberta Purcell, MSN, RN BSN Nursing and Health rpurcell@ben.edu
Roberta Rysztogi, MS, RN BSN Nursing and Health rrysztogi@ben.edu
Lindsay Sawyer, M.B.A., M.P.H., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition lsawyer@ben.edu
Bonnie Schleder, EdD, MSN, RN BSN Nursing and Health bschleder@ben.edu
Laurie Schubert, Ph.D., R.D., L.D.N Nutrition lschubert@ben.edu
Patricia Shannon, PhD, MSN, MA, RN, RNP-BC, CNE MSN Nursing and Health pshannon@ben.edu
Jodie Shield, M.Ed., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition jshield@ben.edu
Mia Siomos, M.S., M.P.H., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition msiomos@ben.edu
Judith Treschuk, PhD, CNS, RN, CNE MSN Nursing and Health jtreschuk@ben.edu
Aline Tupa, MSN, RN BSN Nursing and Health atupa@ben.edu
Kathy Vaca, MSN, RN BSN Springfield Nursing and Health kvaca@ben.edu
Karen Vercellino, MSN, RN-BC, CNE BSN Springfield Nursing and Health kvercellino@ben.edu
Jennifer Vimbor, M.S., R.D., L.D.N. Nutrition jvimbor@ben.edu
M. Cecilia Wendler, PhD, MA, RN, NE-BC MSN Nursing and Health cwendler@ben.edu
Jasmin Whitfield, DNP, MSN, MPH, RN MSN Nursing and Health jwhitfield@ben.edu
Bobbie Sue Whitworth, PhD, MSN, RN MSN Nursing and Health bwhitworth@ben.edu
Mark Wyatt, DNP, MSN, RN, NE-BC MSN Nursing and Health mwyatt@ben.edu
Margaret Young, MSN, RN BSN Nursing and Health myoung@ben.edu
College of Education and Health Services
Benedictine University

Ethel C. Ragland, Ed.D., MN, RN
Acting Dean

Erica George
Assistant to the Dean

Email: egeorge@ben.edu
Phone: (630) 829-6084

Hours: 8:30 a.m. -  4:30 p.m.

By Mail:
Benedictine University
5700 College Road
Kindlon Hall, Room 258
Lisle, IL 60532

Fax: (630) 829-6281